And The Earth Shook

15 Jun

I had several ideas on what to write today. My writing, my acting, my ex, my friends… Many subjects. Planned on it all day. This blogging thing is new to me, well at this level. So making sure that I post interesting things for you to read is important.

Then at about 9:30 PM there was a 5.7 earthquake that hit Southern California. Started near San Diego but we felt it in Orange County. Foot note is that it feels weird to say those names like I’ve lived here for ever. I’ve only lived in California since January 2009.

Well, I was texting my Ex, who is visiting his friend, who lives on the other side of the building for a couple of weeks. We were going to have dinner, but plans changed. I was texting him to see if we could meet in the morning before he leaves. When the shaking started.

I saw the vertical blinds on my patio door dance and I glanced at the hanging light in the dinning room and it was dancing. I was standing near the couch and didn’t know if I should walk somewhere or sit. So I laid down on the couch. Everyone knows nothing happens if you lay down… Right?

So it made me a little excited at first and then when it was over I got really nervous. Started crying and got shook-up. Not like, ‘the dingo stole my baby’, freaked but I’m alone freaked. So I texted my friend in LA. I guess my text sound nervous because he called.

I was shaken-up and sad. Sad, you ask. Yeah, it seems that even at a small scale like this I can’t help but think how short life is. How one day you can be here full of energy and the next… You’re not. Do you feel that? Like you can handle bad situations better with company?!?!

So my goal is to get out there more and meet a nice guy. Flirt a little, talk a little, date a little… No big things just a little. Things in life are better when you have someone to share with. Good, bad, boring, exciting… If someone is there to share with it has to be better… Right?

Leave a Reply

